Spring preparation Part 1: Handlebar Controls

Posted: 26/02/2015 in Repair archives
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spring and warmer temperatures are just around the corner and it is time to sort out the bike for this riding season. I have spent the whole afternoon in the garage today and got a lot done, but I ran out of electricity just before I could finish all my objectives for today.

I have quite a lot to do before I can start ridding. Through this series of posts I will be doing the following things:
-Refresh all fluids
-New filters all round
-New chain and sprockets with 15/44 gearing instead of 16/42
-Swapping clutch and brake levers
-New coolant hoses if they arrive
-New battery
-Sprag clutch replacement
-New throttle tube
-Spark plug

I have probably forgot something but who cares, it’s a long list and I better get to it.
IMG_4665

First on the list was finding out where the clutch is leaking. Or so I thought. I cleaned all the grime on the outside off and expected to find a half empty master cylinder, but when I loosened the bolts It was overfilled, so I guess no leaks. Next on the list was a new clutch lever. I ordered a short lever (54602031000
) because I didn’t want to cut the old ones.
IMG_4666

Looking at the pivot point, 12 years of use have left a mark on it.
IMG_4668

That is the clutch side almost done, still waiting for rubber boot and insert in the master cylinder. But it’s looking good.
IMG_4669

Than I have moved over to the brake side. Same as with the clutch, I got short lever for the front brakes (50313002100).
IMG_4670

Brembo even supplied a HUGE paper instructions
IMG_4671

Old and new lever. You need to swap over the push pin.
IMG_4672

Next I moved to a little something of a improvement, instead of regular maintenance. Since throttle is a little jerky on the 640 I bought a KTM Powerparts Throttle Cam system to try and tame it a little.
IMG_4677
IMG_4678

First order of business was removing the grip from the old tube without damage. So I pushed in a screwdriver a little and spray some WD-40 inside. Work it around and deeper in, add WD-40 and repeat. All the way to through the whole grip. and it will slide off without any damage. Make sure you degrease it before reinstalling it on the new throttle tube.
IMG_4673
IMG_4674

Now you can slide the rubber boot off the cables and undo the bolts keeping the throttle assembly together. Disconnect the cables and remove the old plastic tube. Once off, be sure to clean the bars thoroughly before moving on.
IMG_4681
IMG_4683
IMG_4684

Here is the KTM throttle tube with a 200 cam on it that I will try first. You get 3 in the set, stock one a 200 and 400 cams, which have altered cable pull.
IMG_4679
IMG_4680

When you put everything together make sure nothing binds and throttle snaps back as it should. There is no need to adjust any cables. Tighten everything back together and replace the rubber boot.
IMG_4687
IMG_4688
IMG_4689

Next on the list was to replace those rubber inserts in the triple clamps that hold the handlebar clamps on. They were old, damaged and hard.
IMG_4694

Now instead of getting a new set of rubber inserts, I have opted for a solid mounted version and got aluminium inserts. There are some benefits and some drawback to this.
IMG_4693

The swap is a so straight forward that I won’t describe it. Just take a look at the pictures and you should be able to figure it out.
IMG_4691
IMG_4695
IMG_4696

After securing the bars back to the bike I decided the next thing to take care is the brake fluid. I only managed to do the front as my battery that powers my lights has died, so I will be doing the rear brake in next garage sitting. This was inside the front master cylinder, not to bad.
IMG_4697

Stay tuned for part 2.

Leave a Reply

