Starter clutch problem

Posted: 28/09/2014 in Repair archives
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

A while back, my bike has developed a fault. While kick starting it, e-motor and all the gears were turning with it. It surely didn’t sound healthy.

So I have started investigating the problem. After talking to the guys at advrider.com I have been advised that the sprag clutch is probably stuck in engaged position. So before we head into the process itself, lets look at the tools and parts you will need.

Tools:
– 8, 19(puller screw) and 24 socket
– 32 wrench, at least for my custom magneto puller
– magneto puller, KTM part nr. 584.29.009.000

Parts:
– new gasket, KTM part nr. 584.30.040.000

Here is the puller that they made for me
IMG_4543

So we have started wrenching with the bike on its side. I have put a log under the handlebars. A fret taking 4 bolts (8 socket) out of the case you can simply lift the cover off. But be careful no to tear any of the cables.
IMG_4544

Once the cover is off, this si what you will be looking at.
IMG_4545

To undo the nut you will need a 24 socket. Also it is a right hand thread, so you un-tighten it with turning it right. After that you screw on a puller. At this time I have put the bike up on its side stand as it was easier to undo the nut, fortunately no oil got out.
IMG_4546

After pulling everything off, I have found out that the spring was torn in a few places.
IMG_4547
IMG_4553

After cleaning the debris of the spring out of the bike and off the magnet, I have reassembled everything back in reverse. I kicked it a few times and it started up nicely. The only drawback of this is that I now don’t have a e-starter on my bike.

Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

