Hello!

For those of you who ride your KLE’s off road, you know that stock handlebars are very uncomfortable while standing. So for that reason I decided to either geat a set of Rox or vario risers or swap handlebars. After some discussion on different forums I decided to go with different handlebars, and it is a bit cheaper than risers.

As you could read in my Holiday shopping post I bought a Renthal bars and grips. And now lets go to the mounting process.

Here is a one over the other photo:
IMG_3556

First of all, you need to remove everything from the stock bars. I left the throttle assembly together as I didn’t want it to fall apart and when I removed the bars just slid it down.
IMAG0455

Next undo the four bolts at the clamps. But be aware they are tight as hell, and a bit rusted if still factory. It took a 40 cm extension on the hex wrench and a quick surge.
IMAG0452

The bike without bars, looks quite sad:
IMAG0456IMG_3560

After this it is time tu set up the bars and control for a test fit:
IMG_3558

A this point you have to decide If you will grind the tabs on the controls or drill holes. I decided I will grind of the tab on left side controls as it is plastic and it also doesn’t matter if they spin a little. But on the right side at the throttle I decided to drill the hole to prevent twisting of the controls on the bars.

Grind those little studs in the middle:
IMAG0451

Now to the part that Renthal does not encourage, drilling the bars. I dont think this will be a problem for my bars as I don’t ride half as aggressively as hard enduro and rally guys. Just make sure you drill at the right spot. I think I used a 5mm drill bit.
IMG_3561

Now it’s all just the matter of putting everything back together, clamping on the bars and setting their position to suit you and bolting the controls back on. When the bars are securely back on the bike you can install the new grips. For these Renthal grips I had to cut a hole in the end of the grip so that the bolt for hand guards could go through.
IMG_3562

After that you just slide them on. I used a bit of brake cleaner to help sliding them on. After the brake cleaner dries out they won’t spin, or at least mine don’t. A word of warning here, as the Renthal grips are made for MX/Enduro bikes, the throttle side grip is a bit to short and a bit of plastic throttle tube looks out under it, if I would have measured before fitting I could cut away the excess plastic and make it look nicer but it will have to stay like this for this season.
IMG_3566IMG_3564

With all that done, here is the finished product, and by the way, stock cabel are long enough for this conversion.
IMG_3587
IMG_3571
IMG_3569

If you have any questions, please ask.

Ride hard and stay safe!

Comments
  1. Sergei says:

    Hi, I’m a bit taller and I have to sit quite far back on the seat. Can you recommend a handlebar or mod to make my riding position farther forward?

    • Ghosty_SLO says:

      Hey!

      There are 3 things you can do to change your riding position behind bars.
      1. Undo the handelbar clamps and pivot the bars forward like I did in this picture here. This is by far the cheapest and easiest option.
      2. Getting a set of different bars like my Dakars or something simmilar with less sweep angle. Here is Renthal’s list of MX/Enduro bars with all dimensions.
      3. You can also get a set of variable risers, like Rox risers or SW-Motech vario barback. This is probably the most expensive option, but it gives you the freedom to set the position in the best way for you.

      Hope this helps!

  2. Leprasol says:

    Hi, what is the height difference between stock and Renthals? I am deciding between vario risers and Renthal Enduro High bars and I can not find the stock bars dimensions to compare the height gain of these two possibilities.

    • Ghosty_SLO says:

      I do not know the actual height difference as I haven’t measured it. I wanted vario risers to, but handlebars were cheaper and they worked well for me.

Leave a Reply

