Tutoro chain oiler on KLE 500

Posted: 05/04/2012 in Modifications archives
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey!

As mentioned in the previous post, I have bought a Tutoro manual oiler. I went with Tutoro for a few reaseons. First it’s the cheapest on the market, secondly it won the Ride Magazine’s test and thirdly it is the smallest of them all, as we all know KLE doesnt have a lot of space under the plastics.

So lets take a look at the pacage I have ordered. I have ordered a basic kit with twin feed nozzle, and than added two more things, first was the hose clamp set and the second thing was a Helix tube. A picture says 1000 words:

If you want more info on the oiler, click HERE!

Setting this kit to the bike is very easy, find the place for the oiler, secure it with cabel ties, route the hose, bleed the system, set the flow. Almost like that, but as stated in the product it’s MANUAL. That means you have to turn it on when you go riding and off when you get home, or else you will find a small puddle of oil next to the bike. As I usualy forget moer important things in life than closing an oiler I have added a valve in between. I have bought a 2/2 direct acting valve (in simple terms, its a elektro magnetic valve that opens when current flows through it and closes when ther is no current). Here is a picture of the valve:

So where to tap in the bikes electrical system to get the nessesary power for the valve? Some friends suggested to use the rear light wires, so everytime you turn the key it turns on the oiler. But that is not a good idea if you are doing maintenance and the oil dripps to the garage floor. So I took a look at the service manuals wireing diagrams and have found a better solution. I have wired it to the license plate light. That light comes on when the engin is started, so no dripping of oil when only key in ignition is only turned to on position. Under the seat look for a connector that has 6 wires comming out of it, its near the end of the seat space, somwhere aber reg/rec. I have tapped in black/yelow and red/blue wires.

Well KLE doesn’t have a lot of space for these kind of things to be fitted. I have been at it for around 3-4 hours to figure out good way to mount everything up and this is what i have done:

Position of the oiler:

Valve:

Hose routing:

Helix and nozzle:

Complete view:

I have ordered a twin feed nozzle in hopes that there is enough room to fit it. But unfortunately there isn’t. I had to transform twin feed nozzle to single feed nozzle. I have cut away one nozzle and glued in a toothpick so oil won’t leak out.

I have allready filled the system up with oil and did a short ride around town, as the rain prevented any longer trips. I have filled it with Husqvarna mineral chainsaw oil with 220 viscosity. We will see how will it work. I will report back any changes.

See ya!

Leave a Reply

